AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Insider

The AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the list of nominees for the Class of 2024, and that voting is now open.

The AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame selection committees have put forward 13 nominees from eight areas of influence: Ambassadors & Industry, Design & Engineering, Dirt Track, Leadership & Rights, Motocross & Supercross, Off-Road, Road Racing and Specialty Competition.

Nominees include:

  • Dave Zanotti – Dirt Track
  • Kevin Windham – Motocross
  • Mike Lafferty – Off Road
  • Mat Mladin – Road Racing
  • Billy Hamill – Specialty Competition
  • Sidney Biberman – Ambassadors & Industry
  • Gina Bovaird – Ambassadors & Industry
  • Debbie Matthews – Ambassadors & Industry
  • Bud Maimone – Design & Engineering
  • Barry Willey – Design & Engineering
  • Dana Bell – Leadership & Rights
  • Rob Rasor – Leadership & Rights
  • Gary Sellers – Leadership & Rights

Voting for the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2024 is now open. Eligible voters include previous Hall of Fame inductees, members of the AMA and AMHF Boards of Directors, and members of the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Category Selection Committees. AMA Life Members are also eligible to vote, but should update their contact information to receive the latest updates and announcements pertaining to the voting process.

To vote on this year’s nominees, visit .Voting ends Thursday, June 13 at 11:59 p.m.

Voting results will be announced shortly after voting ends, and the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on Oct. 10, in Pickerington, Ohio.

On the Line with the AMA podcast

Bike Night Celebrates AMA’s 100th!

The AMA’s Hall of Fame Spring Bike Night brought motorcyclists together on May 18 for a fun night at the AMA’s campus in Pickerington, Ohio.

While the event resembled the camaraderie and fun of prior installments, this year’s spring bike night included a special celebration for the AMA’s centennial. Among the festivities, Pickerington Mayor Lee Gray presented a proclamation to AMA President and CEO Rob Dingman. The mayor read the following proclamation to the crowd: “[I] proclaim May 18 as American Motorcyclist Association Day in the city of Pickerington and commend the AMA for promoting and protecting the rights of motorcyclists since 1924.”

In addition, the AMA presented the mayor — who is a Charter Life Member of the AMA — with a “swag bag” full of AMA 100-year and Charter Life items.

A cake cutting put a delicious exclamation point on the celebration, and the AMA looks forward to hosting the community again Oct. 12 during its Hall of Fame Days celebration.

On the Line with the AMA podcast

Hall of Famer Spotlight: Broc Glover

Photo credit: David Dewhurst

May’s Hall of Famer Spotlight is Class-of-2000-inductee Broc Glover, who was named Grand Marshal of the 2024 Permco AMA Vintage Motorcycle Days presented by Yamaha.

Known as the “Golden Boy” of the golden years of professional motocross, Glover will preside over a VMD — which runs July 26-28 — that will celebrate the AMA’s centennial. At VMD, Glover will be on hand to sign autographs, speak to enthusiasts at the AMA Soundstage, participate in the Lap for History on the track at Mid-Ohio each day, and much more.

The six-time AMA motocross national champion overcame financial hardships as a kid and turned professional at just 16 years old. A solid rookie season got Glover a contract with Yamaha in 1977, and the brand would remain with Glover for the entirety of his career.

Glover raced to a trio of AMA 125cc Motocross National Championships and became the first racer to win three consecutive titles in the class. Glover moved to the 500cc class in 1981 and didn’t skip a beat, winning three more titles in 1981, 1983 and 1985. Glover retired in 1989 and finished his career with a stunning 50 AMA National Motocross wins.

He also won 10 AMA Supercross races during his career, which placed him at the time in the top 10 on the all-time wins list. In fact, Glover won the final AMA Supercross race he ever competed in — the season finale at the Los Angles Coliseum on June 18, 1988.

To purchase tickets, visit  To stay up to date on the latest VMD news, stay engaged with sign up for the VMD Newsletter and follow our Facebook and Instagram pages.

On the Line with the AMA podcast

Not one, not two…

…but three AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame raffle bikes! If you want a chance to win either a 1975 BMW R90S1997 KTM 200 EXC Jackpiner or 2024 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-4RR 40th Anniversary Edition, go to

No matter the results, your participation is a win for motorcycling, because proceeds go to the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that raises money for the Hall of Fame to support its mission of celebrating and preserving the rich tradition of motorcycling in America.

A $5 donation gets you one ticket, and a $20 donation gets you five tickets. Participants must be 18 years or older and a resident of the United States to win.

Thank you for supporting the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame and best of luck!

On the Line with the AMA podcast

Hall of Fame Moment: The 1950s

The May issue of American Motorcyclist covered the boom of the 1950s.

Amidst the hustle and bustle of the decade, flat track racing was dominated by the “Indian Wrecking Crew.” The crew — composed of AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famers Bobby Hill, Bill Tuman and Ernie Beckman — won three AMA National Championships in a row from 1951-1953, racking up 14 National wins. Hill won the winner-take-all national championship Springfield Mile in 1951 and ’52, and Tuman won in ’53. Beckman was the last rider to win a national on an Indian, winning the 8-Mile AMA National Championship on the Williams Grove (Pennsylvania) Half-Mile in October of ’53. Indian folded up its tent that same year.

However, a return was made 64 years later when Jared Mees rode the new-generation Indian FTR750 to victory at the Daytona TT in 2017.

Current Hall of Fame and Museum Exhibits

Amateur National Motocross Championship

Home Is Where the Hardware Is

On display in the entrance of the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum are a pair of International Six Days Enduro trophies, won by the U.S. World Trophy and Women’s World Trophy teams in 2023.

Make sure to come and see them for yourself before they are back up for grabs on the world stage!


American Motorcyclist Association
13515 Yarmouth Drive
Pickerington, Ohio 43147
8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET
(800) AMA-JOIN
(800) 262-5646
(614) 856-1900

(614) 856-1931